Boise DUI Defense at Larsen Law Office

A DUI arrest or charge requires immediate action to fully protect all of your rights. In most cases, you only have 7 days in which to begin defending your rights. If you have been arrested or charged with a DUI, you need an experienced Boise criminal defense lawyer who can immediately help you. DUI is a very technical and sometimes complicated area of criminal defense. Often in DUI cases an experienced DUI defense attorney can increase your chances of getting a better result.

Idaho has some of the toughest DUI laws in the United States.
The following is a summary of penalties for DUI in Idaho, as set forth in Idaho Code 18-8005:

First DUI

– misdemeanor violation
– jail up to six months
– fines up to $1,000.
– driver license suspension: 90 to 180 days

Second DUI

– misdemeanor violation
– jail 10 days mandatory, up to 1 year
– fines up to $2,000.
– driver license suspension – 1 year mandatory after release from confinement w/ no privileges of any kind
– ignition interlock mandatory

Third DUI

– felony violation
– jail – 30 days mandatory, up to 5 years
– fines up to $5,000.
– driver license suspension – up to 5 years, 1 year mandatory after release from confinement w/ no driving privileges of any kind
– ignition interlock mandatory

BAC 2.0 or greater

– misdemeanor violation
– jail – 10 days mandatory, put to 1 year
– fines up to $2,000.
– driver license suspension 1 year mandatory.